Sheffield election results are in

The results for Sheffield have now been announced, with two swing seats taking centre stage.

Gill Furness maintained her seat in Brightside and Hillsborough for the second election in a row, gaining 22,369 votes.

Her runner-up, Conservative candidate Hannah Westropp, won 10,095.

MP Gill Furness said: “I do not take this responsibility for granted. It is a privilege and an honour to be re-elected to represent my home, the place I have grown up, lived, worked and represented for many years.”

The next results came through with another safe Labour hold for Sheffield South East, as long-standing MP Clive Betts won a majority of 19,359 votes.

Votes for Labour in this constituency rose by almost 10,000 since the 2017 general election.

A landmark Conservative gain was announced soon after this for the highly contested seat of Penistone and Stocksbridge.

Conservative candidate Miriam Joy Kates won 23,641 votes in this constituency, whilst Labour’s Francyne Johnson came close behind with 16,478.

Sheffield Central was next, with the re-election of Paul Blomfield, Labour MP for the constituency since 2010, who won 33,968 votes.

The most contentious seat of the night, however, turned out to be the marginal constituency of Sheffield Hallam, which was sent for a recount with results announced at 5.45am.

Although exit polls predicted there was an 86% chance the seat would be won by Liberal Democrat Laura Gordon, Labour candidate Olivia Francis Blake won by 712 votes, leaving Sheffield with four Labour MPs and one Conservative swing.

Turnout in Hallam hit record-breaking amounts at 78.3% – the highest turnout for Yorkshire according to the Yorkshire Post.