Ros Jones wins second Doncaster Mayoral term with decisive first-round victory

Labour’s Ros Jones has won a second four-year term as Mayor of Doncaster after a commanding election victory in the early hours of this morning.

On a night when Labour candidates lost ground across the country, Ms Jones won an overall majority of first-preference votes, something no other candidate has ever achieved in a Doncaster mayoral election.

The re-elected Ms Jones said she was “looking forward to cracking on with the job”, as her win was declared just after 3am following the count at Doncaster Racecourse.

“Great progress has been made in Doncaster over the last four years, we have built firm foundations, but there is no time to rest,” she said.

“My thanks go to the people of Doncaster for putting their faith in me.”

Ms Jones won 50.9% of first-preference votes, taking 32,631 votes and narrowly surpassing the target needed to avoid a second round.

Conservative candidate George Jabbour was the runner-up with 21.2% of the vote.

Mr Jabbour said he was very pleased with the result, which was his party’s strongest in a Doncaster mayoral election since 2002.

“People are extremely pleased that Theresa May is leading the country,” he said.

Conservative councillor Nick Allen said his party might compete in the Don Valley constituency at next month’s General Election.

Ukip’s Brian Whitmore came third in the mayoral election on 12.1%, ahead of independent candidate Eddie Todd on 8.3%.

Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition candidate Steve Williams, who came last, said he had had a “successful campaign”.

“We know we’re not going to sweep the board, but it’s a chance to get new recruits and share socialist ideas,” he said.

Turnout was 29.4%, slightly higher than in 2013, when Ms Jones won her first term by unseating independent Mayor Peter Davies.

Voting also took place on Thursday for the 55 seats on Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council, with a very similar turnout.

Those votes will be counted on Friday afternoon.

Sprotbrough ward had the highest turnout in the council election with 35.7%, while Hexthorpe and Balby North was lowest with 24.9%.

Full results

Ros Jones (Labour) – 32,631 votes – 50.9%

George Jabbour (Conservative) – 13,575 votes – 21.2%

Brian Whitmore (Ukip) – 7,764 votes – 12.1%

Eddie Todd (Independent) – 5,344 votes – 8.3%

Chris Whitwood (Yorkshire Party) – 3,235 votes – 5.1%

Steve Williams (Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition) – 1,531 votes – 2.4%