Local elections 2017: Voters going to polls today in Doncaster, Derbyshire and Sheffield

There are four elections taking place in the greater Sheffield region today.

Mayor of Doncaster

Current Labour mayor Ros Jones is running for re-election, but faces a challenge from five other candidates. Mrs Jones has held the mayoralty since 2013.

The full list of candidates is as follows:

George Jabbour – Conservative
Ros Jones – Labour
Eddie Todd – Independent
Brian Whitmore – UK Independence Party
Chris Whitwood – Yorkshire Party
Steve Williams – Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition

The election uses a ‘supplementary vote’ system, whereby voters choose their top two preferences and second choices are taken into account if no candidate wins more than 50% on first preferences.

JUS News will be at the count tonight. The result is expected during the night, probably after 4am.

Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council

All 55 seats on Doncaster council are up for election today.

The current state of the parties in Doncaster. All-Conservative wards are in blue and all-Labour wards in red. The orange ward is held by Mexborough First. The lighter-coloured wards are split between more than one party.

Voters will choose councillors in 21 wards, some of which have two representatives and some of which have three.

Labour currently hold the council with 41 seats. The Conservatives have eight, Mexborough First three and Ukip two.

The counting begins on Friday afternoon with results from around 4pm. JUS News will be there too.

Derbyshire County Council

Voters in Derbyshire are electing all 64 members of their county council.

Labour took the council back from the Conservatives in 2013, and currently hold 43 seats to the Tories’ 18.

The election does not include the city of Derby, which has its own local authority.

JUS News will be covering the count on Friday morning.

Southey by-election

Finally, there is a by-election in Southey ward to fill a seat on Sheffield Council which has been vacant since Labour councillor Leigh Bramall resigned in March.

There are seven candidates in the race.