Labour hold seat on Sheffield Council with victory in Southey by-election

Labour has held Southey ward on Sheffield City Council after winning a by-election.

Mike Chaplin was elected to replace Leigh Bramall on the council, winning 46.0% of the vote with a lead of almost 900 votes over his nearest challenger.

The Liberal Democrats moved into second place as their candidate Philip Brown took 20.4%.

Ukip, who were runners-up in Southey at full council elections in 2016, dropped to third as Dave Ogle won 17.1% of votes.

The Conservatives also improved their share of the vote, coming fourth with 11.2%.

Carol Keen, the first member of the Women’s Equality Party to stand for election in Sheffield, won 40 votes.

Coun Chaplin will join Tony Damms and Jayne Dunn as Labour councillors for Southey.

Turnout was 24.8%.

The full results were as follows:

Mike Chaplin (Labour) – 1,594 votes – 46.0%

Philip Brown (Liberal Democrat) – 706 votes – 20.4%

Dave Ogle (Ukip) – 593 votes – 17.1%

Jason Southcott (Conservative) – 388 votes – 11.2%

Andrew Hards (Green) – 97 votes – 2.8%

Jim Warrender (Yorkshire Party) – 46 votes – 1.3%

Carol Keen (Women’s Equality Party) – 40 votes – 1.2%